• The Colony: Faith and Blood in A Promised Land

    The Colony: Faith and Blood in A Promised Land

    Denton, Sally

    NEW FOR JUNE! Adult Nonfiction. “A shocking massacre in 2019 sparks a probing investigation into the strange, violent history of a polygamist Mormon outpost in Mexico. The victims were fundamentalist Mormons whose forebears broke from the LDS Church and settled in Mexico when polygamy was outlawed. Sally Denton…tells the violent history of the LeBaron clan and their homestead, from the first polygamist emigration to Mexico in the 1880s to the LeBarons' internal blood feud in the 1970s to the family's recent alliance with the NXIVM sex cult. Denton creates a mesmerizing work of investigative journalism in the tradition of Under the Banner of Heaven and Going Clear.” – Publisher description

    Format: Book

    Availability: On order

    View The Colony: Faith and Blood in A Promised Land
  • Counterfeit

    Counterfeit

    Chen, Kirstin

    NEW FOR JUNE! Adult Fiction. “When Ava Wong reconnects with her college roommate, she doesn’t expect to get caught up in an international crime ring. Winnie Fang—who left Stanford in disgrace after a cheating scandal—is back in San Francisco and making money hand over fist. Winnie purchases high-end bags… sells them on eBay and then returns her purchases, swapping them with quality replicas from China. Ava gets involved while on a trip to China with her young son. Chen’s third novel is sly and subversive, an examination of motherhood and an incisive look at culture and class.” – Booklist

    Format: Book

    Availability: On order

    View Counterfeit
  • Cult Classic

    Cult Classic

    Crosley, Sloane

    NEW FOR JUNE! Adult Fiction. “One night in New York City’s Chinatown, a woman is at a work reunion dinner with former colleagues when she excuses herself to buy a pack of cigarettes. On her way back, she runs into a former boyfriend. And then another. And . . . another. Nothing is quite what it seems as the city becomes awash with ghosts of heartbreaks past. Hilariously insightful and delightfully suspenseful, Cult Classic is an original: a masterfully crafted tale of love, memory, morality, and mind control, as well as a fresh foray into the philosophy of romance.” – Publisher description

    Format: Book

    Availability: On order

    View Cult Classic
  • How to Raise An Antiracist

    How to Raise An Antiracist

    Kendi, Ibram X.

    NEW FOR JUNE! Adult Nonfiction. “Kendi lays out an antiracism plan for care-givers in this knockout combination of memoir and parenting guide. Kendi challenges the notion that not talking about race protects children; [to] that end, he suggests, parents should…train critical thinkers by asking such questions as ‘Why do you think there aren't more picture books with dark people on the covers?’; and cultivate empathy by making sure not to ‘dismiss feelings, judge their feelings, or [sic] hostile to their feelings.’ This will be an invaluable resource for any parent or teacher who want to set kids on the path to antiracism early.” – Publishers Weekly

    Format: Book

    Availability: On order

    View How to Raise An Antiracist
  • On Rotation

    On Rotation

    Obuobi, Shirlene

    NEW FOR JUNE! Adult Fiction. “After Angie Appiah’s boyfriend dumps her on the way to meet her parents for the first time, she finds a quiet place to cry in a public garden. There she meets the incredibly handsome Ricky, who sketches a portrait of her and flirts with her, only to tell her he has a girlfriend. Angie barely has time to date—she’s juggling a punishing medical school schedule, the demands of her Ghanaian American family, and drama with her friends—but then Ricky breaks up with his girlfriend. A funny, emotional page-turner that will have readers rooting for Angie.” – Booklist

    Format: Book

    Availability: On order

    View On Rotation
  • Rogues: True Stories of Grifters, Killers, Rebels, and Crooks

    Rogues: True Stories of Grifters, Killers, Rebels, and Crooks

    Keefe, Patrick Radden

    NEW FOR JUNE! Adult Nonfiction. “Keefe has garnered prizes… for his meticulously-reported, hypnotically-engaging work on the many ways people behave badly. Rogues brings together a dozen of his most celebrated articles from The New Yorker. Keefe brilliantly explores the intricacies of forging $150,000 vintage wines, examines whether a whistleblower who dared to expose money laundering at a Swiss bank is a hero or a fabulist, chronicles the quest to bring down a cheerful international black market arms merchant, and profiles a passionate death penalty attorney who represents the ‘worst of the worst,’ among other bravura works of literary journalism.” – Publisher description

    Format: Book

    Availability: On order

    View Rogues: True Stories of Grifters, Killers, Rebels, and Crooks
  • Tracy Flick Can't Win: A Novel

    Tracy Flick Can't Win: A Novel

    Perrotta, Tom

    NEW FOR JUNE! Adult Fiction. “Tracy Flick is back and, once again, the iconic protagonist of Perrotta’s Election, is determined to take high school politics by storm. [She] is a hardworking assistant principal at a public high school in suburban New Jersey. Still ambitious but feeling a little stuck and underappreciated in midlife, Tracy gets a jolt of good news when the longtime principal abruptly announces his retirement... Energized by the prospect of her long-overdue promotion, Tracy throws herself into her work with renewed zeal, determined to prove her worth… while also managing her personal life—a 10-year-old daughter, a needy doctor boyfriend, and a burgeoning meditation practice.” – Publisher description

    Format: Book

    Availability: On order

    View Tracy Flick Can't Win: A Novel
  • What Your Food Ate: How to Heal Our Land and Reclaim Our Health

    What Your Food Ate: How to Heal Our Land and Reclaim Our Health

    Montgomery, David R./ Bikle, Anna

    NEW FOR JUNE! Adult Nonfiction. “Geologist \nMontgomery and biologist Biklé bemoan the loss of soil nutrients in this insightful look at regenerative farming. Produce is significantly less nutrient-dense than in the past, and while consumers believe that organic farming yields more nutritious results than conventional agriculture, ‘what's typically missing from the framing of dietary choices,’ the authors write, ‘is how we grow what we eat.’ The authors offer a bevy of ideas for reviving soil, namely no-till planting, the usage of cover crops, and crop rotation. The result is a deep dive that's convincing and well reported.” – Publishers Weekly\n

    Format: Book

    Availability: On order

    View What Your Food Ate: How to Heal Our Land and Reclaim Our Health
  • Woman of Light

    Woman of Light

    Fajardo-Anstine, Kali

    NEW FOR JUNE! Adult Fiction. “Luz ‘Little Light’ Lopez, a tea leaf reader and laundress, is left to fend for herself after her older brother, Diego… is run out of town by a violent white mob. As Luz navigates 1930s Denver, she begins to have visions that transport her to her Indigenous homeland in the nearby Lost Territory. Luz recollects her ancestors’ origins, how her family flourished, and how they were threatened. In the end, it is up to Luz to save her family stories from disappearing into oblivion. A dazzling epic of betrayal, love, and fate that spans five generations of an Indigenous Chicano family in the American West.” – Publisher description

    Format: Book

    Availability: On order

    View Woman of Light
  • Book Lovers

    Book Lovers

    Henry, Emily

    NEW FOR MAY! Adult Fiction. “Literary agent Nora is tired of always playing the ambitious big-city ice queen whose boyfriends leave her for new lives (and new relationships) in small-town America. That's why, when Nora's sister insists on taking her on a trip to a little town that's straight out of one of her authors' novels, and imposes a list of romance tropes to experience, Nora is doubtful she can find her happily-ever-after. Cue Charlie, an editor and Nora's nemesis from New York who mysteriously shows up in town… [T]his novel will delight readers of smart, sexy, and funny romances with emotional depth and storylines featuring family dynamics.” – LJ

    Format: Book

    Availability: Available

    View Book Lovers