Queen Anne Branch Highlights
The current Queen Anne Branch was renovated and reopened Aug. 25, 2007. Tall ceilings with large leaded glass windows and hanging lamps give the building a spacious feel. The historic branch is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and has been named a landmark building by Seattle's Landmarks Preservation Board.
Serving Queen Anne since 1914
In 1911, philanthropist Andrew Carnegie donated $70,000 to build two branch libraries in Seattle; one of them was in Queen Anne.
In 1912, Queen Anne residents discussed where to locate the branch. They chose the current site at Fourth Avenue West and West Garfield Street. Col. Alden Blethen, Queen Anne resident and owner of The Seattle Times, contributed $500 toward the site; the city paid the balance of $6,700. The two-level branch opened on New Year's Day in 1914.
Read where you live
The renovated Queen Anne Branch is the 23rd project completed under the "Libraries for All" building program.
The renovation was designed by Hoshide Williams Architects and built by Biwell Construction Inc.
Stained glass and "The Seven Liberal Arts" by Dennis Evans
"Quintet in D," stained glass windows that artist Richard Spaulding created for the branch in 1977, remains in place in the central reading room.
Artist Dennis Evans was commissioned to create two pieces of artwork each for five of Seattle's historic Carnegie-era libraries. Building on the ideas of learning, education, and history, Evans linked the libraries with paintings based on the seven liberal arts. Called the “Seven Liberal Arts Suite,” his work celebrates the seven branches of knowledge that initiate everyone into a life of learning. Each branch features one “reference painting” that is similarly composed at each location. The second art piece at each library is unique to that location and explores one of the seven liberal arts. The unique work featured at the Queen Anne Branch explores the art of Grammar.
Spaces named for donors include:
Linda Larson and Gerry Johnson Family Reading Area; Lois and Nelson Anderson & Anne Anderson Questad Children's Area; and the Stuart H. Prestrud Meeting Room.