• Remote Control

    Remote Control

    Okorafor, Nnedi

    "The day Fatima forgot her name, Death paid a visit. From here on in she would be known as Sankofa--a name that meant nothing to anyone but her, the only tie to her family and her past. Her touch is death, and with a glance a town can fall. And she walks--alone, except for her fox companion--searching for the object that came from the sky and gave itself to her when the meteors fell and when she was yet unchanged; searching for answers. But is there a greater purpose for Sankofa, now that Death is her constant companion?"--

    Format: Book

    View Remote Control
  • Zero Zone

    Zero Zone

    O'Connor, Scott

    "Los Angeles, the late 1970s: Jess Shepard is an installation artist who creates environments that focus on light and space, often leading to intense sensory experiences for visitors to her work. A run of critically lauded projects peaks with Zero Zone, an installation at the once upon a time site of nuclear bomb testing in the New Mexico desert. But when a small group of travelers experience what they perceive as a religious awakening inside Zero Zone, they barricade themselves in the installation until authorities are forced to intervene. That violent showdown becomes a media sensation, following Jess wherever she...

    Format: Book

    View Zero Zone
  • The Shaman of Karres

    The Shaman of Karres

    Flint, Eric

    "Captain Pausert just can't catch a break! First, he became the mortal enemy of his fiancée, his home planet, the Empire-and even the Worm World, the darkest threat to mankind in all of space. All because he helped rescue three slave children from their masters. Of course, these three young women were the universally feared Witches of Karres-but how was he to know that?! And after he defeated the Worm World (with the help of the witches, of course), the Empress herself had sent him on a secret mission to stop a nanite plague that was raging across the galaxy....

    Format: Book

    View The Shaman of Karres
  • The Book of Koli

    The Book of Koli

    Carey, M. R.

    "The Book of Koli is the unforgettable story of a young boy struggling to find his place in a world where nature itself has turned against humanity: Everything that lives hates us... Beyond the walls of the small village of Mythen Rood lies an unrecognizable landscape. A place where overgrown forests are filled with choker trees and deadly seeds that will kill you where you stand. And if they don't get you, one of the dangerous shunned men will. Koli has lived in Mythen Rood his entire life. He believes the first rule of survival is that you don't venture...

    Format: Book

    View The Book of Koli
  • Repo Virtual

    Repo Virtual

    White, Corey J.

    "The city of Neo Songdo is a Russian doll of realities -- augmented and virtual spaces anchored in the weight of the real. The smart city is designed to be read by machine vision while people see only the augmented facade of the corporate ideal. At night the stars are obscured by an intergalactic virtual war being waged by millions of players, while on the streets below people are forced to beg, steal, and hustle to survive. Enter Julius Dax, online repoman and real-life thief. He's been hired for a special job: stealing an unknown object from a reclusive tech...

    Format: Book

    View Repo Virtual
  • The Last Campaign

    The Last Campaign

    Shoemaker, Martin L.

    "Brazilian investigator Rosalia Morais, and her husband, revered American spacer Nicolau Aames, are building a life together in Mars's Maxwell City, the fastest-growing settlement on the planet. Good news: there are no natural predators. Bad news: there are humans. That means the crime rate is growing, too. To ensure public safety, Rosie's appointed by the mayor as the Red Planet's first sheriff. No sooner does she build a law enforcement squad than the biggest challenge looks to be internal. Policing the police for graft and corruption is one thing. But when an industrialist is found among the chars of an...

    Format: Book

    View The Last Campaign
  • Rhythm of War

    Rhythm of War

    Sanderson, Brandon

    "After forming a coalition of human resistance against the enemy invasion, Dalinar Kholin and his Knights Radiant have spent a year fighting a protracted, brutal war. Neither side has gained an advantage, and the threat of a betrayal by Dalinar's crafty ally Taravangian looms over every strategic move. Now, as new technological discoveries by Navani Kholin's scholars begin to change the face of the war, the enemy prepares a bold and dangerous operation. The arms race that follows will challenge the very core of the Radiant ideals, and potentially reveal the secrets of the ancient tower that was once the...

    Format: Book

    View Rhythm of War
  • The Unsettling Stars

    The Unsettling Stars

    Foster, Alan Dean

    "Taking place in an alternate timeline created when the Starship Kelvin was destroyed by a Romulan invader from the future, this all-new tale follows Captain James T. Kirk and an inexperienced crew commandeering a repaired U.S.S. Enterprise out of spacedock for a simple shakedown cruise. When a distress call comes in, the Enterprise must aid a large colony ship of alien refugees known as the Perenoreans, who are under siege by an unknown enemy. But Kirk and his crew will find that the situation with the peaceful Perenoreans is far more complicated than they bargained for, and the answers as...

    Format: Book

    View The Unsettling Stars
  • A Life Without End

    A Life Without End

    Beigbeder, Frédéric

    What does the man who has everything--fame, fortune, a new love, and a new baby--want for his fiftieth birthday? The answer is simple: eternal life. Determined to shake off the first intimations of his approaching demise, Frédéric tries every possible procedure to ward off death, examining both legal and illegal research into techniques that could lead to the imminent replacement of man with a post-human species. Accompanied by his ten-year-old daughter and her robot friend, Frédéric crisscrosses the globe to meet the world's foremost researchers on human longevity, who--from cell rejuvenation and telomere lengthening to 3D-printed organs and digitally stored...

    Format: Book

    View A Life Without End
  • The Echo Wife

    The Echo Wife

    Gailey, Sarah

    "'When they said all happy families are alike, I don't think this is what they meant...' Evelyn Caldwell's husband Nathan has been having an affair - with Evelyn Caldwell. Or, to be exact, with a genetically cloned replica. After a morning that begins with a confrontation and ends with Nathan's body bleeding out on the kitchen floor, the two Caldwell wives will have to think fast--before sharing everything includes sharing a jail cell. The Echo Wife is a non-stop thrill ride of lies, betrayal, and identity, perfect for fans of Big Little Lies and Killing Eve"--

    Format: Book

    View The Echo Wife