• Dark Earth

    Dark Earth

    Stott, Rebecca

    "In Dark Ages Britain, sisters Isla and Blue live in the shadows of the Ghost City, the abandoned ruins of the once-glorious, mile-wide Roman settlement Londinium on the north bank of the Thames. The native Britons and the new migrants from the East who scratch out a living in small wooden camps in its hinterland fear that the crumbling stone ruins are haunted by vengeful spirits. But the small island they call home is also a place of exile for Isla, Blue, and their father, a legendary blacksmith accused of using dark magic to make his firetongue swords. The local...

    Format: Book

    View Dark Earth
  • A Hundred Other Girls

    A Hundred Other Girls

    Hariri-Kia, Iman

    "Noora's life is a little off track. She's an aspiring writer and amateur blogger in New York-which is a nice way of saying that she tutors rich Upper East Side kids and is currently crashing on her sister's couch. But that's okay. Noora has Leila, who has always been her rock, and now she has another major influence to lean on: Vinyl magazine. The pages of Vinyl practically raised Noora, teaching her everything from how to properly insert a tampon to which political ideology she subscribes to. So when she lands a highly coveted job as assistant to Loretta James,...

    Format: Book

    View A Hundred Other Girls
  • Briefly, A Delicious Life

    Briefly, A Delicious Life

    Stevens, Nell

    "An unforgettable debut novel from an award-winning writer: a lively, daring ghost story about a dead teen girl who falls in love with a female writer who has no idea she exists. In 1473, fourteen-year-old Blanca dies in childbirth in a hilltop monastery in Mallorca. Nearly four hundred years later, when George Sand, her two children, and her lover Frederic Chopin arrive in the village, Blanca is still there: a spirited, funny, righteous ghost, she's been hanging around the monastery since her accidental death, spying on the monks and the townspeople and keeping track of her descendants. Blanca is enchanted...

    Format: Book

    View Briefly, A Delicious Life
  • The Accidental Pinup

    The Accidental Pinup

    Jackson, Danielle

    "Rival photographers are forced to collaborate on a body-positive lingerie campaign, but they might have to readjust their focus when sparks fly. Photographer Cassie Harris loves her job--her company, Buxom Boudoir, makes people look beautiful and feel empowered with her modern twist on classic pinup photography. Cassie's best friend, Dana, is about to launch her own lingerie line and wants Cassie to shoot and direct the career-changing national campaign. But company politics and Dana's complicated pregnancy interfere, and Cassie finds herself--a proud plus-size Black woman--not behind the camera but in front of it. Though she's never modeled herself, Cassie's pretty...

    Format: Book

    View The Accidental Pinup
  • Eclipse the Moon

    Eclipse the Moon

    Mihalik, Jessie

    "Kee Ildez has been many things: hacker, soldier, bounty hunter. She never expected to be a hero, but when a shadowy group of traitors starts trying to goad the galaxy's two superpowers into instigating an interstellar war, Kee throws herself into the search to find out who is responsible--and stop them. Digging up hidden information is her job, so hunting traitors should be a piece of cake, but the primary suspect spent years in the military, and someone powerful is still covering his tracks. Disrupting their plans will require the help of her entire team, including Varro Runkow, a Valovian...

    Format: Book

    View Eclipse the Moon
  • Bad Thoughts

    Bad Thoughts

    Alic, Nada

    "An exhilarating and delightfully deviant debut story collection that, with comedic precision and compulsive irreverence, explores the most surreal and inadmissible fantasies of contemporary women. In her startlingly funny debut collection, Nada Alic portrays characters compelled by an inner agitation-a deep desire to know themselves beyond their prescribed social roles of wife, artist, woman, friend. Bad Thoughts journeys inside the subterranean realm of a woman's mind where her most feral instincts reign. Mundane ruminations on how to sound normal on the phone and where Danish people are from rub up against weighty, existential meditations like Am I a bad person?...

    Format: Book

    View Bad Thoughts
  • Lambda

    Lambda

    Musgrave, David

    Whoever the lambdas might be, and wherever they really come from, they're already here among us. Outwardly alien arrivals from a distant sea, the lambdas are genetically human. They slip quietly into low- to middle-income jobs and appear to want nothing more than to be left alone. For Cara Gray, they are first a haunting presence in her otherwise ordinary childhood, then the inscrutable target of her police surveillance work. When a bomb goes off at a school, a nebulous group of lambda extremists claims responsibility for the attack-but how could a vulnerable community of tiny aquatic humans, barely visible...

    Format: Book

    View Lambda
  • Black Mouth

    Black Mouth

    Malfi, Ronald Damien

    Perfect for fans of Stephen King's IT, a group of friends return to their hometown to confront a nightmare they first stumbled on as teenagers in this mesmerizing odyssey of terror. An atmospheric, haunting page-turner, full of memorable characters and sublime terror, from the author of Come with Me. For nearly two decades, Jamie Warren has been running from darkness. He's haunted by a traumatic childhood and the guilt at having disappeared from his disabled brother's life. But then a series of unusual events reunites him with his estranged brother and their childhood friends, and none of them can deny...

    Format: Book

    View Black Mouth
  • Walking in Tall Weeds

    Walking in Tall Weeds

    Pearson, Robin W.

    Paulette and Fred Baldwin are in a new season of life in Hickory Grove, North Carolina. Their son, McKinley, has moved away to live his own life, and the couple is struggling to connect with one another. In addition, Paulette suspects Fred and McKinley are hiding something that could change the whole family. As they face a coming storm, faith may be the only thing to get them through.

    Format: Book

    View Walking in Tall Weeds
  • Awakened

    Awakened

    Cast, P. C.

    Zoey has returned from the Otherworld to her rightful place as High Priestess at the House of Night. Her friends are just glad to have her back, but after losing her human consort, Heath, will Zoey--or her relationship with her super-hot Warrior, Stark--ever be the same?

    Format: Book

    View Awakened