• Indians of the Pacific Northwest: From the Coming of the White Man to the Present Day

    Indians of the Pacific Northwest: From the Coming of the White Man to the Present Day

    Deloria, Vine

    Noted Native historian Deloria (Standing Rock Sioux) first published this history of Northwest Native tribes in 1977, and it is still considered a definitive account today. Reissued in 2012 with commentary from local Native leaders.

    Format: eBook

    Availability: All copies in use

    View Indians of the Pacific Northwest: From the Coming of the White Man to the Present Day
  • Future Home of the Living God: A Novel

    Future Home of the Living God: A Novel

    Erdrich, Louise

    In this thought-provoking dystopian novel by Ojibwe (Turtle Mountain Band) author Erdrich, Cedar Mountain Songmaker, a pregnant Ojibwe woman, finds herself under threat as society begins to dissolve and a radical religious group seizes control.

    Format: Downloadable Audiobook

    Availability: All copies in use

    View Future Home of the Living God: A Novel
  • Conflict Resolution for Holy Beings: Poems

    Conflict Resolution for Holy Beings: Poems

    Harjo, Joy

    Harjo, a member of the Mvskoke Nation, became the first Native American United States Poet Laureate in 2019. This 2015 collection of poetry is an excellent introduction to her work.

    Format: eBook

    Availability: All copies in use

    View Conflict Resolution for Holy Beings: Poems
  • Bitterroot: A Salish Memoir of Transracial Adoption

    Bitterroot: A Salish Memoir of Transracial Adoption

    Harness, Susan Devan

    In this poignant, soul-searching memoir, Harness (Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes) describes the struggles and complexities she experienced as an Indigenous child adopted and raised by a white couple in the rural West.

    Format: eBook

    Availability: All copies in use

    View Bitterroot: A Salish Memoir of Transracial Adoption
  • Where the Dead Sit Talking

    Where the Dead Sit Talking

    Hobson, Brandon

    Fans of There, There by Tommy Orange may also enjoy this equally compelling and poignant novel by a Cherokee author about Sequoyah, a Cherokee man who recalls his tumultuous teen years as a foster child in 1980s Oklahoma.

    Format: eBook

    Availability: All copies in use

    View Where the Dead Sit Talking
  • Mongrels: A Novel

    Mongrels: A Novel

    Jones, Stephen Graham

    Hilarious and heartbreaking, Jones' (Blackfeet) unique horror novel about a family of werewolves in the deep South is a coming-of-age story like none other.

    Format: eBook

    Availability: All copies in use

    View Mongrels: A Novel
  • Braiding Sweetgrass: Indigenous Wisdom, Scientific Knowledge and the Teachings of Plants

    Braiding Sweetgrass: Indigenous Wisdom, Scientific Knowledge and the Teachings of Plants

    Kimmerer, Robin Wall

    Kimmmerer is a botany professor and a member of the Citizen Potawatomi Nation who deftly interweaves science and personal reflections in this fascinating, lyrically written exploration of the natural and cultural history of plants.

    Format: Downloadable Audiobook

    Availability: All copies in use

    View Braiding Sweetgrass: Indigenous Wisdom, Scientific Knowledge and the Teachings of Plants
  • Heart Berries: A Memoir

    Heart Berries: A Memoir

    Mailhot, Terese Marie

    Stó:lō First Nations (Seabird Island Band) author Mailhot has written a searing yet poetic memoir about coming of age as a young woman on a Pacific Northwest reservation, where poverty and intergenerational trauma left deep scars.

    Format: Downloadable Audiobook

    Availability: All copies in use

    View Heart Berries: A Memoir
  • House Made of Dawn

    House Made of Dawn

    Momaday, N. Scott

    Originally published in 1968, this groundbreaking, Pulitzer-Prize-winning novel by Kiowa writer Momaday depicts the lives of contemporary Native Americans at Jemez Pueblo, New Mexico with rich detail and creative imagery.

    Format: eBook

    Availability: All copies in use

    View House Made of Dawn
  • Sanaaq: An Inuit Novel

    Sanaaq: An Inuit Novel

    Nappaaluk, Mitiarjuk

    One of the first novels published in Inuktitut (a Canadian Inuit language), this intimate novel movingly depicts the daily rhythms of life for Sanaaq, an Inuit widow, and her family, and the growing intrusions of white settlers into their community.

    Format: eBook

    Availability: All copies in use

    View Sanaaq: An Inuit Novel