The Seattle Public Library

Your Account | Print-Friendly

January 22, 2018

Library Collection

Books, Movies & Music : New Adult Historical Fiction

Header Image

Library Locator


Map of Library Locations

New Historical Fiction Books for Adults

 

Hundreds of books are added to the Library's collection each month. Here are the most recent Historical Fiction books for adults.

 

RSS feed for this list
Death at Nuremberg

Death at Nuremberg
Griffin, W. E. B.

"When Jim Cronley hears he's just won the Legion of Merit, he figures there's another shoe to drop, and it's a big one: he's out as Chief, DCI-Europe. His new assignments, however, couldn't be bigger: to protect the U.S. chief prosecutor in the Nuremberg trials from a rumored Soviet NKGB kidnapping, and to hunt down and dismantle the infamous Odessa, an organization dedicated to helping Nazi war criminals escape to South America. It doesn't take long for the first attempt on his life, and then the second. NKGB or Odessa? Who can tell? The deeper he pushes, the more secrets tumble out: a scheme to swap Nazi gold for currency, a religious cult organized around Himmler himself, an NKGB agent who is actually working for the Mossad, a German cousin who turns out to be more malevolent than he appears--and a distractingly attractive newspaperwoman who seems to be asking an awful lot of questions. Which one will turn out to be the most dangerous? Cronley wishes he knew."--Amazon.com.


Format: Book
Holds: 12 on 6 copies

View this item

 
Sundown at Sunrise: A Story of Love and Murder, Based on One of the Most Notorious Ax Murders in American History

Sundown at Sunrise: A Story of Love and Murder, Based on One of the Most Notorious Ax Murders in American History
Seifert, Marty, 1972-

"Based on a true tale from the early 1900s, this work of historical fiction gives life to murderer William Kleeman, a handsome young farmer from southwestern Minnesota who courts the beautiful Maud Petri. After a quick engagement and marriage, the couple produce four children and are joined by boarder Mary Snelling, who teaches at the country school across the road. This addictive story winds through many twists before ending in a deadly rampage that results in one of the most notorious ax murders in American history." -- Page [4] of cover.


Format: Book
Holds: 0 on 6 copies

View this item

 
Liars and Saints: A Novel

Liars and Saints: A Novel
Meloy, Maile

Follows four generations of the Catholic Santerre family from World War II to the present, as they navigate a succession of life-altering events--through the submerged emotion of the fifties, the recklessness and excess of the sixties and seventies, and the reckonings of the eighties and nineties. In a family driven by jealousy and propriety as much as by love, an unspoken tradition of deceit is passed from generation to generation, and fiercely protected secrets gradually drive the Santerres apart. When tragedy shatters their precarious domestic lives, it takes astonishing courage and compassion to bring them back together.


Format: Book
Holds: 0 on 4 copies

View this item

 
Ziegfeld Girls

Ziegfeld Girls
Barthel, Sarah, 1981-

New York City, 1914. Suzanne and Jada. Sisters--and wealthy employer and devoted maid. Together, they realize Suzanne's dream to see her name in lights on Broadway as she becomes the dazzling Ziegfeld Follies' rising new star. But Jada's superb voice and dance skills give her an unexpected shot at her own success. When a jealous Suzanne reveals a shattering secret, their friendship becomes a bitter rivalry. As Suzanne consoles herself with dashing suitors and champagne nights, Jada transforms into Harlem's hottest nightclub sensation. But staying on top can be cold and hard, and in the face of racism and obsession they must make an uneasy alliance to find out the truth.


Format: Book
Holds: 0 on 5 copies

View this item

 
Judah's Wife: A Novel of the Maccabees

Judah's Wife: A Novel of the Maccabees
Hunt, Angela Elwell, 1957-

Seeking peace and safety after a hard childhood, Leah marries Judah, a strong and gentle man, and for the first time in her life believes she can rest easily. But the land is ruled by Antiochus IV, and when he issues a decree that all Jews are to conform to Syrian laws upon pain of death, devout Jews risk everything to follow the law of Moses. Judah's father resists the decree, and is cost him his life. But before dying, he commands his son to pick up his sword and continue the fight--or bear responsibility for the obliteration of the land of Judah. What kind of God would destroy the peace Leah has sought for so long?


Format: Book
Holds: 0 on 4 copies

View this item

 
Captain Alatriste

Captain Alatriste
Pérez-Reverte, Arturo

" ... Captain Alatriste is the story of a fictional seventeenth-century Spanish soldier who lives as a swordsman-for-hire in Madrid. Needing gold to pay off his debts, Alatriste and another hired blade are paid to ambush two travelers, stage a robbery, and give the travelers a fright. "No blood," they are told. Then a mysterious stranger enters to clarify the job: he increases the pay, and tells Alatriste that, instead, he must murder the two travelers. When the attack unfolds, Alatriste realizes that these aren't ordinary travelers, and what happens next is only the first in a riveting series of twists and turns, with implications that will reverberate throughout the courts of Europe"--Provided by the publisher.


Format: Book
Holds: 0 on 3 copies

View this item

 
Ostatok dni͡a: [roman]

Ostatok dni͡a: [roman]
Ishiguro, Kazuo, 1954-

A compelling portrait of the perfect English butler, who, at the end of his career in postwar England, reviews his life and secretly questions the "greatness" of the nobleman he served.


Format: Book
Holds: 1 on 2 copies

View this item

 
The Room on Rue Amelie

The Room on Rue Amelie
Harmel, Kristin

"For fans of Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Martha Hall Kelly's Lilac Girls, this powerful novel of fate, resistance, and family--by the international bestselling author of The Sweetness of Forgetting and When We Meet Again--tells the tale of an American woman, a British RAF pilot, and a young Jewish teenager whose lives intersect in occupied Paris during the tumultuous days of World War II. When newlywed Ruby Henderson Benoit arrives in Paris in 1939 with her French husband Marcel, she imagines strolling arm in arm along the grand boulevards, awash in the golden afternoon light. But war is looming on the horizon, and as France falls to the Nazis, her marriage begins to splinter, too. Charlotte Dacher is eleven when the Germans roll into the French capital, their sinister swastika flags snapping in the breeze. After the Jewish restrictions take effect and Jews are ordered to wear the yellow star, Charlotte can't imagine things getting much worse. But then the mass deportations begin, and her life is ripped forever apart. Thomas Clarke joins the British Royal Air Force to protect his country, but when his beloved mother dies in a German bombing during the waning days of the Blitz, he wonders if he's really making a difference. Then he finds himself in Paris, in the shadow of the Eiffel Tower, and he discovers a new reason to keep fighting--and an unexpected road home. When fate brings them together, Ruby, Charlotte, and Thomas must summon the courage to defy the Nazis--and to open their own broken hearts--as they fight to survive. Rich with historical drama and emotional depth, this is an unforgettable story that will stay with you long after the final page is turned"--Provided by publisher.


Format: Book
Holds: 1 on 6 copies

View this item

 
The Betrayal of the Blood Lily

The Betrayal of the Blood Lily
Willig, Lauren

Overview: Whisked away to nineteenth-century India, Penelope Deveraux plunges into the court intrigues of the Nizam of Hyderabad, where no one is quite what they seem. New to this strange and exotic country-where a dangerous spy called the Marigold leaves venomous cobras as his calling card-she can trust only one man: Captain Alex Reid. With danger looming from local warlords, treacherous court officials, and French spies, Alex and Penelope may be all that stand in the way of a plot designed to rock the very foundations of the British Empire.


Format: Book
Holds: 0 on 4 copies

View this item

 
Любовь и долг Александра III - Li͡ubovʹ i dolg Aleksandra III: [roman]

Любовь и долг Александра III - Li͡ubovʹ i dolg Aleksandra III: [roman]
Арсеньева, Елена

Арсеньева, Елена.
Любовь и долг Александра III : [роман] / Елена Арсеньева.
Москва : ЭКСМО, 2012.
Чаровница, романы Е. Арсеньевой
Арсеньева, Елена. Чаровница.


Format: Book
Holds: 1 on 2 copies

View this item

 



[ 1 - 10 ] [ 11 - 20 ] [ 21 - 30 ] [ 31 - 40 ] [ 41 - 50 ] [ 51 - 60 ] [ 61 - 70 ] [ 71 - 80 ] [ 81 - 90 ] [ 91 - 100 ]

RSS feed for this list