The Seattle Public Library

Your Account | Print-Friendly

December 14, 2017

Library Collection

Books, Movies & Music : Library Reads June 2016

Header Image

Library Locator


Map of Library Locations

Library Reads: 10 New Books for June 2016

 

< Back to Index

 

A new novel from Anne Tyler, new nonfiction from Mary Roach, a much-anticipated debut from Yaa Gyasi and seven more titles you won't want to miss! These are the 10 books librarians across the U.S. are loving right now.

 

RSS feed for this list
Vinegar Girl: The Taming of the Shrew Retold

Vinegar Girl: The Taming of the Shrew Retold
Tyler, Anne

“The newest entry in the Hogarth Shakespeare series brings The Taming of the Shrew into the modern world. Kate is stuck in a life taking care of her absent minded professor father and her sister, Bunny. When her father suggests a marriage of convenience in order to secure a green card for his lab assistant Pyotr, Kate is shocked. This is a sweet and humorous story about two people, who don’t quite fit in, finding each other. Tyler’s wonderful writing updates and improves on the original.” -- Catherine Coyne, Mansfield Public Library, Mansfield, MA


Format: Book
Holds: 3 on 33 copies

View this item

 
The Invisible Library

The Invisible Library
Cogman, Genevieve

“Directed by powerful librarians, agents roam alternate realities searching out special volumes for their mysterious library’s collections. Irene is a spy for the library but something is a little off about her current mission; there’s something strange about her new assistant that she can’t quite put her finger on and worse, the requested volume has already been stolen. Cogman’s engaging characters and a most intriguing imagined world are sure to delight readers, especially bibliophiles.” -- Beth Mills, New Rochelle Public Library, New Rochelle, NY


Format: Book
Holds: 1 on 19 copies

View this item

 
Under the Harrow

Under the Harrow
Berry, Flynn

“Nora leaves London to visit her sister, Rachel, in the countryside often. But this trip is different – a silent house, a dead dog hanging from the railing and so much blood. Nora stays, trying to help the police solve the case. She thinks it might have something to do with the unsolved attack on Rachel when she was just a teen but it could be someone new. This story is thrilling and quietly gripping. We become as obsessed as Nora in finding her sister’s killer and what if he strikes again?” -- Kimberly McGee, Lake Travis Community Library, Austin, TX


Format: Book
Holds: 3 on 19 copies

View this item

 
Grunt: The Curious Science of Humans at War

Grunt: The Curious Science of Humans at War
Roach, Mary

“With courageous curiosity, journalistic persistence, and a wry empathetic sense of humor, Roach once again delves into a fascinating topic few of us would openly explore. She writes about the issues confronting the military in its attempt to protect and enable combat troops. Roach brings to our attention the amazing efforts of science to tackle all the challenges of modern warfare. Grunt is another triumph of sometimes uncomfortable but fascinatingrevelation.” -- Darren Nelson, Sno-Isle Libraries, Marysville, WA


Format: Book
Holds: 8 on 38 copies

View this item

 
Homegoing

Homegoing
Gyasi, Yaa

“An engaging family saga following two half-sisters – one who marries into privilege and one sold into slavery – and their descendants as they navigate the politics of their separate countries and their heritage. Each is directly affected in some way by the choices of the past, and finding the parallels in the triumphs and heartbreak makes for an engrossing read.” -- Amanda Monson, Bartow County Library System, Cartersville, GA


Format: Book
Holds: 89 on 87 copies

View this item

 
Missing, Presumed: A Novel

Missing, Presumed: A Novel
Steiner, Susie

“This is a thoughtful police procedural about a missing person case and the secrets that come to the surface when a feisty detective becomes relentless in finding the truth. Edith is a successful college student from a well-known family, but all is not what it seems. Detective Manon Bradshaw is feeling the pressure to quickly resolve the case. What sets this apart from other detective stories is how the lead character is brought to life; she exposes her melancholy and it adds a satisfying mix to the thrills. Recommended for fans of Tana French.” -- Andrienne Cruz, Azusa City Library, Azusa, CA


Format: Book
Holds: 9 on 32 copies

View this item

 
Stiletto : A Novel

Stiletto : A Novel
O'Malley, Daniel

“In the long-awaited sequel to The Rook, negotiations between two highly secret organizations, one based on science and reason and the other on the supernatural, are continuing. Odette and Pawn both come to the forefront of the story as we get more of the history of the groups and why mortal enemies would want to join forces. With its blend of intricate world-building and fantastical situations, Stiletto both surprised me and made me laugh.” -- Mary Bell, Wilbraham Public Library, Wilbraham, MA


Format: Book
Holds: 0 on 0 copies

View this item

 
We Could Be Beautiful: A Novel

We Could Be Beautiful: A Novel
Huntley, Swan

“Wealthy art collector Catherine spends her time fussing over her tiny boutique card shoppe so that she can feel like a productive member of society. She meets the handsome and refined William Stockton, yet something seems just a little too good to be true. The plot thickens as long hidden family secrets emerge. Huntley certainly knows how to build up the suspense. This debut novel includes some nice plot twists and Catherine’s character evolves favorably. Recommended for fans of psychological fiction.” -- Mary Vernau, Tyler Public Library, Tyler, TX


Format: Book
Holds: 1 on 21 copies

View this item

 
Lily and the Octopus

Lily and the Octopus
Rowley, Steven

“Rowley has lovingly captured what it is like to be totally invested in caring for another life, another heart. This book is a true gift for anyone who has experienced the loss of a dog, but especially for those of us who have nursed a beloved dog through an illness even though you both knew it was going to be a losing battle. A special bond is formed there, and the story of Lily and Ted illustrates it so perfectly.” -- Mary Coe, Fairfield Woods Branch Library, Fairfield, CT


Format: Book
Holds: 2 on 24 copies

View this item

 
Widowmaker

Widowmaker
Doiron, Paul

“Doiron delivers a novel of intensifying suspense. The brooding and flawed Bowditch deals with a newly revealed family secret that sets him off on a search for the truth. His personal mission leads him into danger as he chases a vigilante through the wintry Maine woods. Doiron perfects his storytelling with a richly detailed setting and admirable sense of timing. You’ll want to go back to the previous Bowditch adventures while awaiting the next installment. Highly recommended for fans of Nevada Barr and C.J. Box.”-- Mamie Ney, Auburn Public Library, Auburn, ME


Format: Book
Holds: 0 on 5 copies

View this item

 



[ 1 - 10 ] [ 11 - 11 ]

RSS feed for this list