The Seattle Public Library

Your Account | Print-Friendly

December 13, 2017

Library Collection

Books, Movies & Music : If you liked All the Light We Cannot See

Header Image

Library Locator


Map of Library Locations

If you liked 'All the Light We Cannot See' by Anthony Doerr

 

< Back to Index

 

Our librarians suggest these five books if you loved Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning character-driven novel set during World War II.

 

RSS feed for this list
All the Light We Cannot See: A Novel

All the Light We Cannot See: A Novel
Doerr, Anthony

"Marie Laure lives with her father in Paris within walking distance of the Museum of Natural History where he works as the master of the locks (there are thousands of locks in the museum). When she is six, she goes blind, and her father builds her a model of their neighborhood, every house, every manhole, so she can memorize it with her fingers and navigate the real streets with her feet and cane. When the Germans occupy Paris, father and daughter flee to Saint-Malo on the Brittany coast, where Marie-Laure's agoraphobic great uncle lives in a tall, narrow house by the sea wall. In another world in Germany, an orphan boy, Werner, grows up with his younger sister, Jutta, both enchanted by a crude radio Werner finds. He becomes a master at building and fixing radios, a talent that wins him a place at an elite and brutal military academy and, ultimately, makes him a highly specialized tracker of the Resistance. Werner travels through the heart of Hitler Youth to the far-flung outskirts of Russia, and finally into Saint-Malo, where his path converges with Marie-Laure."--


Format: Book
Holds: 56 on 59 copies

View this item

 
Half-blood Blues: A Novel

Half-blood Blues: A Novel
Edugyan, Esi

"That narrow moment in time when the freewheeling decadence of Weimar Germany gave way to jackbooted tyranny has been the subject of much fine fiction, but Edugyan is the first to overlay it with jazz history. It makes a sublime marriage." (Booklist)


Format: Book
Holds: 1 on 9 copies

View this item

 
Crooked Heart: A Novel

Crooked Heart: A Novel
Evans, Lissa

"Evans explores the Blitz during World War II from two utterly inventive perspectives-that of a sharp-minded ten-year-old orphan evacuee and the unscrupulous and desperate 36-year-old suburban widow who billets him in exchange for his ration book and a small monthly sum." (Library Journal)


Format: Book
Holds: 1 on 14 copies

View this item

 
In the Wolf's Mouth

In the Wolf's Mouth
Foulds, Adam

"The title of Foulds' latest refers to an Italian good-luck saying tinged with fear, a fitting reference to the interconnected fates of three World War II soldiers - one British and two Italian-American - after the liberation of Sicily. Foulds writes like no one else; while individual scenes are rendered with poetic simplicity, they fit together into an elliptical, complex plot readers will puzzle over long after finishing this novel." (Kirkus)


Format: Book
Holds: 1 on 5 copies

View this item

 
The Cellist of Sarajevo

The Cellist of Sarajevo
Galloway, Steven

"Inspired by Vedran Smailovic, the cellist who, in 1992, played in a bombed-out Sarajevo square for 22 days in memory of the 22 people who were killed by a mortar attack, this is a novel about four people trying to maintain a semblance of their humanity in the besieged city." (Booklist)


Format: Book
Holds: 5 on 4 copies

View this item

 
A Constellation of Vital Phenomena: A Novel

A Constellation of Vital Phenomena: A Novel
Marra, Anthony

"In rural Chechnya, during the second war, a small group of people struggle to survive in the bleakest of circumstances... Marra collapses time, sliding between 1996 and 2004... All of the characters are closely tied together in ways that Marra takes his time revealing, even as he beautifully renders the way we long to connect and the lengths we will go to endure." (Booklist)"


Format: Book
Holds: 13 on 14 copies

View this item

 



RSS feed for this list