The Seattle Public Library

Your Account | Print-Friendly

December 17, 2017

Library Collection

Books, Movies & Music : If you like The Martian

Header Image

Library Locator


Map of Library Locations

Alert

Library closed Dec. 24 and 25

All locations of The Seattle Public Library and the book drops at the Central Library will be closed on Christmas Eve, Sunday, Dec. 24 and Christmas Day, Monday, Dec. 25.

If you liked 'The Martian' by Andy Weir

 

< Back to Index

 

Did you love the fast-paced action in "The Martian" novel -- or in the movie? Perhaps you loved the actual science Weir included? We have a few books to keep you turning pages into the night.

 

RSS feed for this list
The Martian: A Novel

The Martian: A Novel
Weir, Andy

"Six days ago, astronaut Mark Watney became one of the first people to walk on Mars. Now, he's sure he'll be the first person to die there. After a dust storm nearly kills him and forces his crew to evacuate while thinking him dead, Mark finds himself stranded and completely alone with no way to even signal Earth that he's alive--and even if he could get word out, his supplies would be gone long before a rescue could arrive. Chances are, though, he won't have time to starve to death. The damaged machinery, unforgiving environment, or plain-old 'human error' are much more likely to kill him first. But Mark isn't ready to give up yet. Drawing on his ingenuity, his engineering skills--and a relentless, dogged refusal to quit--he steadfastly confronts one seemingly insurmountable obstacle after the next. Will his resourcefulness be enough to overcome the impossible odds against him?" --


Format: Book
Holds: 9 on 29 copies

View this item

 
Packing for Mars: The Curious Science of Life in the Void

Packing for Mars: The Curious Science of Life in the Void
Roach, Mary

The author of Stiff and Bonk explores the irresistibly strange universe of space travel and life without gravity. Space is a world devoid of the things we need to live and thrive: air, gravity, hot showers, fresh produce, privacy, beer. Space exploration is in some ways an exploration of what it means to be human. How much can a person give up? How much weirdness can they take? What happens to you when you can't walk for a year? have sex? smell flowers? What happens if you vomit in your helmet during a space walk? Is it possible for the human body to survive a bailout at 17,000 miles per hour? To answer these questions, space agencies set up all manner of quizzical and startlingly bizarre space simulations. As the author discovers, it's possible to preview space without ever leaving Earth. From the space shuttle training toilet to a crash test of NASA's new space capsule (cadaver filling in for astronaut), she takes us on a surreally entertaining trip into the science of life in space and space on Earth.


Format: Book
Holds: 7 on 5 copies

View this item

 
The Explorer

The Explorer
Smythe, J. P.


Format: Book
Holds: 0 on 2 copies

View this item

 
Rescue Mode

Rescue Mode
Bova, Ben

"The first human mission to Mars meets with near-disaster when a meteoroid strikes the spacecraft, almost destroying it. The ship is too far from Earth to simply turn around and return home. The eight-person crew must ride their crippled ship to Mars while they desperately struggle to survive. On Earth, powerful political forces that oppose human spaceflight try to use the accident as proof that sending humans into space is too dangerous to continue. The whole human space flight program hangs in the balance. And if the astronauts can't nurse their ship to Mars and back, the voyagers will become either the first Martian colonists--or the first humans to perish on another planet" --


Format: Book
Holds: 0 on 4 copies

View this item

 
Red Mars

Red Mars
Robinson, Kim Stanley


Format: Book
Holds: 3 on 8 copies

View this item

 
Rendezvous With Rama

Rendezvous With Rama
Clarke, Arthur C.

"


Format: Book
Holds: 3 on 10 copies

View this item

 



RSS feed for this list