The Seattle Public Library

Your Account | Print-Friendly

December 12, 2017

Library Collection

Books, Movies & Music : Popular Adult Nonfiction

Header Image

Library Locator


Map of Library Locations

Popular Nonfiction books for adults

 

Hundreds of books are added to the Library's collection each month. Here are the most popular Nonfiction Books for adults.

 

RSS feed for this list
Nomadland: Surviving America in the Twenty-first Century

Nomadland: Surviving America in the Twenty-first Century
Bruder, Jessica

Employers have discovered a new, low-cost labor pool, made up largely of transient older Americans. Finding that social security comes up short, often underwater on mortgages, these invisible casualties of the Great Recession have taken to the road by the tens of thousands in late-model RVs, travel trailers, and vans, forming a growing community of nomads: migrant laborers who call themselves "workampers." Bruder hits the road to get to know her subjects, accompanying them from job to job in the dark underbelly of the American economy, while celebrating their resilience and creativity.


Format: Book
Holds: 142 on 26 copies

View this item

 
Unbelievable: My Front-row Seat to the Craziest Campaign in American History

Unbelievable: My Front-row Seat to the Craziest Campaign in American History
Tur, Katy, 1983-

The NBC news correspondent assigned to cover the Trump campaign for the 2016 presidential election shares her perspective on witnessing Trump's unexpected campaign successes.


Format: Book
Holds: 140 on 48 copies

View this item

 
Nudge: Improving Decisions About Health, Wealth, and Happiness

Nudge: Improving Decisions About Health, Wealth, and Happiness
Thaler, Richard H., 1945-

"Nudge is about choices--how we make them and how we can make better ones. Drawing on decades of research in the fields of behavioral science and economics, authors Richard H. Thaler and Cass R. Sunstein offer a new perspective on preventing the countless mistakes we make--ill-advised personal investments, consumption of unhealthy foods, neglect of our natural resources--and show us how sensible "choice architecture" can successfully nudge people toward the best decisions. In the tradition of The Tipping Point and Freakonomics, Nudge is straightforward, informative, and entertaining--a must-read for anyone interested in our individual and collective well-being."--Publisher's description


Format: Book
Holds: 136 on 31 copies

View this item

 
The Odyssey

The Odyssey
Homer


Format: Book
Holds: 136 on 13 copies

View this item

 
Sweet: Desserts From London's Ottolenghi

Sweet: Desserts From London's Ottolenghi
Ottolenghi, Yotam

"A collection of over 110 recipes for sweets, baked goods, and confections from superstar chef Yotam Ottolenghi. Sweet is entirely filled with delicious baked goods, desserts, and confections starring Ottolenghi's signature flavor profiles and ingredients including fig, rose petal, saffron, orange blossom, star anise, pistachio, almond, cardamom, and cinnamon"--Provided by publisher.


Format: Book
Holds: 135 on 28 copies

View this item

 
Chief Seattle and the Town That Took His Name: The Change of Worlds for the Native People and Settlers on Puget Sound

Chief Seattle and the Town That Took His Name: The Change of Worlds for the Native People and Settlers on Puget Sound
Buerge, David M.


Format: Book
Holds: 134 on 262 copies

View this item

 
The Four Tendencies: The Indispensable Personality Profiles That Reveal How to Make your Life Better (and Other People's Lives Better, Too)

The Four Tendencies: The Indispensable Personality Profiles That Reveal How to Make your Life Better (and Other People's Lives Better, Too)
Rubin, Gretchen

"Reveals the surprising truth about the four hidden personality types that drive everything we do. Learn how to understand yourself better--and also how to influence others more effectively"--Provided by publisher.


Format: Book
Holds: 132 on 109 copies

View this item

 
Six Seasons: A New Way With Vegetables

Six Seasons: A New Way With Vegetables
McFadden, Joshua

"In 225 simple, inventive recipes that celebrate all the ways to use all the parts of a vegetable at its peak, McFadden shares his passion and expertise as both chef and farmer"--Page 4 of overleaf.


Format: Book
Holds: 130 on 28 copies

View this item

 
World Without Mind: The Existential Threat of Big Tech

World Without Mind: The Existential Threat of Big Tech
Foer, Franklin


Format: Book
Holds: 126 on 28 copies

View this item

 
Bunk: The Rise of Hoaxes, Humbug, Plagiarists, Phonies, Post-facts, and Fake News

Bunk: The Rise of Hoaxes, Humbug, Plagiarists, Phonies, Post-facts, and Fake News
Young, Kevin, 1970-

"Award-winning poet and critic Kevin Young traces the history of the hoax as a peculiarly American phenomenon--the legacy of P.T. Barnum's 'humbug' culminating with the currency of Donald J. Trump's 'fake news'. Disturbingly, Young finds that fakery is woven from stereotype and suspicion, with race being the most insidious American hoax of all. He chronicles how Barnum came to fame by displaying figures like Joice Heth, a black woman whom he pretended was the 161-year-old nursemaid to George Washington, and 'What Is It?', an African American man Barnum professed was a newly discovered missing link in evolution. Bunk then turns to the hoaxing of history and the ways that forgers, plagiarists, and journalistic fakers invent backstories and falsehoods to sell us lies about themselves and about the world in our own time, from pretend Native Americans like Nasdijj to the deadly imposture of Clark Rockefeller, from the made-up memoirs of James Frey to the identity theft of Rachel Dolezal. This brilliant and timely work asks what it means to live in a post-factual world of 'truthiness' where everything is up for interpretation and everyone is subject to a pervasive cynicism that damages our ideas of reality, fact, and art."--Dust jacket flap.


Format: Book
Holds: 125 on 16 copies

View this item

 



[ 1 - 10 ] [ 11 - 20 ] [ 21 - 30 ] [ 31 - 40 ] [ 41 - 50 ] [ 51 - 60 ] [ 61 - 70 ] [ 71 - 80 ]

RSS feed for this list