The Seattle Public Library

Your Account | Print-Friendly

December 15, 2017

Library Collection

Books, Movies & Music : Popular Adult Historical Fiction

Header Image

Library Locator


Map of Library Locations

Popular Historical Fiction books for adults

 

Hundreds of books are added to the Library's collection each month. Here are the most popular Historical Fiction books for adults.

 

RSS feed for this list
An Echo of Murder

An Echo of Murder
Perry, Anne

"In the course of his tenure with the Thames River Police, Commander Monk has yet to see a more gruesome crime scene: a Hungarian warehouse owner lies in the middle of his blood-sodden office, pierced through the chest with a bayonet and eerily surrounded by seventeen candles, their wicks dipped in blood. Suspecting the murder may be rooted in ethnic prejudice, Monk turns to London's Hungarian community in search of clues but finds his inquiries stymied by its wary citizens and a language he doesn't speak. Only with the help of a local pharmacist acting as translator can Monk hope to penetrate this tightly knit enclave, even as more of its members fall victim to identical brutal murders. But whoever the killer, or killers, may be--a secret society practicing ritual sacrifice, a madman on a spree, a British native targeting foreigners--they are well hidden among the city's ever-growing populace. With the able assistance of his wife--former battlefield nurse Hester, who herself is dealing with a traumatized war veteran who may be tangled up in the murders--Monk must combat distrust, hostility, and threats from the very people he seeks to protect. But as the body count grows, stirring ever greater fear and anger among the Hungarian resistance to the police also increases. Racing time and the rising tide of terror all around him, Monk must be even more relentless than the mysterious killer, or the echoes of malice and murder will resound through London's streets like a clarion of doom"--Provided by publisher.


Format: Book
Holds: 26 on 12 copies

View this item

 
The Buried Giant

The Buried Giant
Ishiguro, Kazuo, 1954-

"A couple set off across a troubled land of mist and rain in the hope of finding a son they have not seen in years."--Provided by publisher.


Format: Book
Holds: 25 on 28 copies

View this item

 
The Last Ballad

The Last Ballad
Cash, Wiley

"About a young mother desperately trying to hold her family together in the years before the Great Depression, a haunting and moving story of cowardice, courage and sacrifice"--Provided by publisher.


Format: Book
Holds: 25 on 12 copies

View this item

 
The Revolution of Marina M

The Revolution of Marina M
Fitch, Janet, 1955-

Marina Makarova is a woman of privilege who aches to break free of the constraints of her genteel life. Swept up on the tides of the Russian Revolution, Marina joins the marches for workers' rights, falls in love with a radical young poet, and betrays everything she holds dear, before being betrayed in turn. As her country goes through tremendous upheaval, Marina's own coming-of-age unfolds, marked by deep passion, devastating loss, and the private heroism of an ordinary woman living through extraordinary times.


Format: Book
Holds: 25 on 18 copies

View this item

 
Stella by Starlight

Stella by Starlight
Draper, Sharon M.

Stella lives in the segregated South, in Bumblebee, North Carolina, to be exact about it. Some stores she can go into. Some stores she can't. Some folks are right pleasant. Others are a lot less so. The Klan hasn't bothered them for years, but one late night, while wandering around outside, Stella and her little brother see something they're never supposed to see, something that is the first flicker of change to come, unwelcome change by any stretch of the imagination.


Format: Audiobook CD
Holds: 24 on 8 copies

View this item

 
The Weight of Ink

The Weight of Ink
Kadish, Rachel

"An intellectual and emotional jigsaw puzzle of a novel for readers of A.S. Byatt's Possession and Geraldine Brooks's People of the Book Set in London of the 1660s and of the early twenty-first century, The Weight of Ink is the interwoven tale of two women of remarkable intellect: Ester Velasquez, anemigrant from Amsterdam who is permitted to scribe for a blind rabbi, just before the plague hits the city; and Helen Watt, an ailing historian with a love of Jewish history. As the novel opens, Helen has been summoned by a former student to view a cache of seventeenth-century Jewish documents newly discovered in his home during a renovation. Enlisting the help of Aaron Levy, an American graduate student as impatient as he is charming, and in a race with another fast-moving team of historians, Helen embarks on one last project: to determine the identity of the documents' scribe, the elusive"Aleph."Electrifying and ambitious, sweeping in scope and intimate in tone, The Weight of Ink is a sophisticated work of historical fiction about women separated by centuries, and the choices and sacrifices they must makein order to reconcile the life of the heart and mind"--Provided by publisher.


Format: Book
Holds: 24 on 6 copies

View this item

 
Death in St. Petersburg

Death in St. Petersburg
Alexander, Tasha, 1969-

"After the final curtain of Swan Lake, an animated crowd exits the Mariinsky theatre brimming with excitement from the night's performance. But outside the scene is somber. A ballerina's body lies face down in the snow, blood splattered like rose petals over the costume of the Swan Queen. The crowd is silenced by a single cry--"Nemetseva is dead!" Amongst the theatergoers is Lady Emily, accompanying her dashing husband Colin in Russia on assignment from the Crown. But it soon becomes clear that Colin isn't the only one with work to do. When the dead ballerina's aristocratic lover comes begging for justice, Emily must apply her own set of skills to discover the rising star's murderer. Her investigation takes her on a dance across the stage of Tsarist Russia, from the opulence of the Winter Palace, to the modest flats of ex-ballerinas and the locked attics of political radicals. A mysterious dancer in white follows closely behind, making waves through St. Petersburg with her surprise performances and trail of red scarves. Is it the sweet Katenka, Nemetseva's childhood friend and favorite rival? The ghost of the murdered étoile herself? Or, something even more sinister?" -- provided by publisher.


Format: Book
Holds: 23 on 8 copies

View this item

 
A Christmas Return: A Novel

A Christmas Return: A Novel
Perry, Anne

As Charlotte Pitt's grandmother Mariah Ellison finds herself investigating a long-unsolved slaying, it becomes clear that grappling with intrigue and foul play runs in the family. A festive Christmas package left on Mariah's doorstep contains an ominous present, sparking memories of a twenty-year-old murder that shattered her friendship with the victim's widow. Though the gift is a bitter reminder of that tragic time, in the spirit of the season Mariah travels to Surrey in hopes of reconciling with her estranged friend and solving the crime that drove them apart.


Format: Book
Holds: 23 on 8 copies

View this item

 
Past Perfect: A Novel

Past Perfect: A Novel
Steel, Danielle

What's so perfect about the past for Sybil and Blake Gregory, a successful Manhattan couple with three children who land in San Francisco when Blake impulsively accepts the job of a lifetime as CEO of a start-up? The family moves into a grand, surprisingly affordable Pacific Heights mansion and soon meets the affable Butterfield family, who lived there a century ago. Of course the Butterfields are ghosts, and only the Gregorys can see them, but that doesn't keep the two families from leading a charmed life together.


Format: Large Print
Holds: 23 on 8 copies

View this item

 
Just One Damned Thing After Another

Just One Damned Thing After Another
Taylor, Jodi

"Madeline "Max" Maxwell has stumbled on the dream of a lifetime: a career as a time-traveling historian with St. Mary's Institute of Historical Research. The researchers are under strict orders to observe only--no interaction with the locals is allowed. But from her first mission rescuing artifacts from the Great Library of Alexandria, Max realized that time travel is a dangerous activity and that history--and other historians--will go to elaborate lengths to protect themselves." --adapted from Library Journal review.


Format: Book
Holds: 22 on 5 copies

View this item

 



[ 1 - 10 ] [ 11 - 20 ] [ 21 - 30 ] [ 31 - 40 ] [ 41 - 50 ] [ 51 - 60 ] [ 61 - 70 ] [ 71 - 80 ]

RSS feed for this list