The Seattle Public Library

Your Account | Print-Friendly

December 11, 2017

Library Collection

Books, Movies & Music : New Adult Poetry

Header Image

Library Locator


Map of Library Locations

New Poetry Books for Adults

 

Hundreds of books are added to the Library's collection each month. Here are the most recent Poetry books for adults.

 

RSS feed for this list
Forget It

Forget It
Anastacia-Reneé

"Anastacia Renée's FORGET IT draws the reader into the churning seas of dissolution--marriage, family, identity, livelihood--in language unknotted from the constraints of punctuation, syntax, sense--"eaten into seedless cherries"--and plunged into the fabular scape/scope of dreams, myth, fairytales, faith, race. Phantom births, ghosts, half-grown children, sex, betrayal, violence, anger, female body, the bloody aftermaths of dissolution sprawling, placental and umbilical, in the urgent, haunted language of dreaming and memory. City and speaker dissolve into one another, boundaries vanquished. What remains after dissolution? Talking to herself. From whence do (k)new form(s) arise? A "revelatory hymn", matrix upon which self and sense are (re-) configured as her own, Anastacia Renée's FORGET IT dances on the grave of the lost--fiery tempest, a phoenix of language and presence. When we wake up, nothing is forgotten."--Amazon.com.


Format: Book
Holds: 1 on 3 copies

View this item

 
What Is This Thing Called Love

What Is This Thing Called Love
Addonizio, Kim, 1954-

Contains a collection of poems in which Kim Addonizio expresses the emotions of jealousy, self pity, and fear, using urban imagery and informal language combined with classical forms.


Format: Book
Holds: 0 on 2 copies

View this item

 
Ugly Time

Ugly Time
Galvin, Sarah


Format: Book
Holds: 0 on 3 copies

View this item

 
Ghost Child of the Atalanta Bloom

Ghost Child of the Atalanta Bloom
Aronson, Rebecca


Format: Book
Holds: 0 on 2 copies

View this item

 
Electric Arches

Electric Arches
Ewing, Eve L.


Format: Book
Holds: 39 on 6 copies

View this item

 
Sun in Days: Poems

Sun in Days: Poems
O'Rourke, Meghan


Format: Book
Holds: 0 on 4 copies

View this item

 
Rocket Fantastic: Poems

Rocket Fantastic: Poems
Calvocoressi, Gabrielle


Format: Book
Holds: 0 on 3 copies

View this item

 
A Good Cry: What We Learn From Tears and Laughter

A Good Cry: What We Learn From Tears and Laughter
Giovanni, Nikki

"Poet, firebrand, mother, radical, healer, and sage, Nikki Giovanni has always been celebrated for her inspired and courageous voice. For decades, she has spoken out on the sensitive issues -- race and gender, violence and inequality -- that touch our national consciousness. As energetic and insightful as ever, Nikki Giovanni now offers us an intimate and affecting look at her personal history and the hidden corners of her own heart. In A Good Cry, she takes us into her confidence, describing the joy and peril of aging and recalling the violence that permeated her parents' marriage and her childhood. She pays homage to the people who have given her life meaning and delight: her grandparents, who took her in and saved her life; the poets and thinkers who have influenced her; and the students who have surrounded her. Giovanni also celebrates her good friend, Maya Angelou, and the many years of friendship, poetry, and kitchen-table laughter they shared before Angelou's death in 2014. An essential work for our times and a moving chronicle of an artist's life. A Good Cry is another classic from the prolific and perennially relevant Nikki Giovanni." --From publisher's description.


Format: Book
Holds: 13 on 6 copies

View this item

 
Invocation to Daughters

Invocation to Daughters
Reyes, Barbara Jane

"The fifth collection from Oakland poet Barbara Jane Reyes, in the tradition of Audre Lorde and Theresa Hak Kyung Cha, Invocation to Daughters is a book of prayers, psalms, and odes for Filipina girls and women trying to survive and make sense of their own situations. Writing in an English inflected with Tagalog and Spanish, Reyes unleashes this colonized tongue against sexualized and racialized violence towards Pinay women. With its meditations on the relationship between fathers and daughters and impassioned pleas on behalf of victims of brutality, Invocation to Daughters is a lyrical feminist broadside written from a place of shared humanity"--Provided by publisher.


Format: Book
Holds: 0 on 3 copies

View this item

 
Timber Curtain

Timber Curtain
McCue, Frances

"Haunt the halls of a demolished writers' house. Punch through the "timber curtains" that cover clear-cuts, gentrification, and bereavement"--Provided by publisher.


Format: Book
Holds: 9 on 3 copies

View this item

 



[ 1 - 10 ] [ 11 - 20 ] [ 21 - 30 ] [ 31 - 40 ] [ 41 - 50 ] [ 51 - 60 ] [ 61 - 70 ] [ 71 - 80 ] [ 81 - 90 ] [ 91 - 100 ]

RSS feed for this list