The Seattle Public Library

Your Account | Print-Friendly

December 12, 2017

Library Collection

Books, Movies & Music : If you like Uprooted

Header Image

Library Locator


Map of Library Locations

If you liked 'Uprooted" by Naomi Novik

 

< Back to Index

 

If you liked the fairytale-inspired fantasy of "Uprooted," try one of these other five titles.

 

RSS feed for this list
Uprooted

Uprooted
Novik, Naomi

"Agnieszka loves her valley home, her quiet village, the forests and the bright shining river. But the corrupted Wood stands on the border, full of malevolent power, and its shadow lies over her life. Her people rely on the cold, driven wizard known only as the Dragon to keep its powers at bay. But he demands a terrible price for his help: one young woman handed over to serve him for ten years, a fate almost as terrible as falling to the Wood. The next choosing is fast approaching, and Agnieszka is afraid. She knows--everyone knows--that the Dragon will take Kasia: beautiful, graceful, brave Kasia, all the things Agnieszka isn't, and her dearest friend in the world. And there is no way to save her. But Agnieszka fears the wrong things. For when the Dragon comes, it is not Kasia he will choose"--


Format: Book
Holds: 12 on 27 copies

View this item

 
Beauty: A Retelling of the Story of Beauty & the Beast

Beauty: A Retelling of the Story of Beauty & the Beast
McKinley, Robin

Kind Beauty grows to love the Beast at whose castle she is compelled to stay, and through her love releases him from the spell which had turned him from a handsome prince into an ugly beast.


Format: Book
Holds: 0 on 9 copies

View this item

 
Dreamer's Pool

Dreamer's Pool
Marillier, Juliet

After escaping her wrongful imprisonment, magical healer Blackthorn, living on the fringe of a mysterious forest with a former prison mate named Grim, is duty bound to assist anyone who asks for her help.


Format: Book
Holds: 1 on 5 copies

View this item

 
The Seventh Bride

The Seventh Bride
Kingfisher, T.

Rhea is a miller’s daughter of low birth, so she is understandably surprised when a mysterious nobleman, Lord Crevan, shows up on her doorstep and proposes marriage. She soon discovers that not only was her betrothed married six times before, but his previous wives are all imprisoned in his enchanted castle.


Format: Book
Holds: 3 on 2 copies

View this item

 
Cinder

Cinder
Meyer, Marissa

As plague ravages the overcrowded Earth, Cinder, a gifted mechanic and cyborg, becomes involved with handsome Prince Kai and must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect the world in this futuristic take on the Cinderella story.


Format: Book
Holds: 1 on 32 copies

View this item

 
Six-gun Snow White

Six-gun Snow White
Valente, Catherynne M.

"A retelling of the classic fairy tale set in a mythical Wild West follows the adventures of the gun-toting daughter of a Nevada silver baron and a Native American woman, whose wicked stepmother taunts her with an ironic nickname and abuses her for her mixed heritage." (NoveList)"


Format: Book
Holds: 0 on 4 copies

View this item

 



RSS feed for this list