The Seattle Public Library

Your Account | Print-Friendly

December 17, 2017

Children

Children : New Childrens Nonfiction

Audience: Children Header Image
Homework Resources

Library Locator


Map of Library Locations

Alert

Library closed Dec. 24 and 25

All locations of The Seattle Public Library and the book drops at the Central Library will be closed on Christmas Eve, Sunday, Dec. 24 and Christmas Day, Monday, Dec. 25.

New Nonfiction Books for Children

 

Hundreds of books are added to the Library's collection each month. Here are the most recent Nonfiction Books for children.

 

RSS feed for this list
Bad Princess: True Tales From Behind the Tiara

Bad Princess: True Tales From Behind the Tiara
Waldherr, Kris

A mix of royal biography, pop culture, art, style, and pure fun, Bad Princess is a whip-smart, tongue-in-cheek spin on the traditional princess narrative, proving that it takes more than a pretty crown to be a great leader.


Format: Book
Holds: 0 on 10 copies

View this item

 
Charlie Takes His Shot: How Charlie Sifford Broke the Color Barrier in Golf

Charlie Takes His Shot: How Charlie Sifford Broke the Color Barrier in Golf
Churnin, Nancy

"In the 1960s Charlie Sifford became the first African American to break the color barrier in golf and despite discrimation went on to win the PGA tournament"--Provided by publisher.


Format: Book
Holds: 0 on 10 copies

View this item

 
The Thrifty Time Traveler's Guide to Ancient Rome: A Handbook of Time Travelers

The Thrifty Time Traveler's Guide to Ancient Rome: A Handbook of Time Travelers
Stokes, Jonathan W.

The Thrifty Guide to Ancient Rome contains information vital to the sensible time traveler.


Format: Book
Holds: 0 on 8 copies

View this item

 
STREETCAR TO JUSTICE: Elizabeth Jennings Graham and the Civil Rights Case That Shook New York

STREETCAR TO JUSTICE: Elizabeth Jennings Graham and the Civil Rights Case That Shook New York
HEARTH, AMY HILL.

In 1854, a young African American woman named Elizabeth Jennings won a major victory against a New York City streetcar company, a first step in the process of desegregating public transportation in Manhattan. This illuminating and important piece of the history of the fight for equal rights, illustrated with photographs and archival material from the period, is for fans of Phillip Hoose and Steve Sheinkin.


Format: Book
Holds: 0 on 6 copies

View this item

 
Roses and Radicals: The Epic Story of How American Women Won the Right to Vote

Roses and Radicals: The Epic Story of How American Women Won the Right to Vote
Zimet, Susan

"A history of the women's movement and the fight to ratify the 19th Amendment-giving women the right to vote in 1920"--Provided by publisher.


Format: Book
Holds: 0 on 6 copies

View this item

 
Meet Me at the Well: The Girls and Women of the Bible

Meet Me at the Well: The Girls and Women of the Bible
Yolen, Jane

"The inimitable Jane Yolen has teamed up with Barbara Diamond Goldin (a prolific author in her own right) to retell Bible stories from the point of view of twelve women (in nine chapters, as some come in pairs). After each story, there is a reflection "imagine" piece written from the voice of each woman (written by Barbara) and a poem about her (written by Jane). Intermixed with the main text are sidebars called "midrash" in the singular or "midrashim" in the plural. These pose questions about each Bible story, provide more information about traditions, and include scholars' and writers' interpretations. These type of sidebars are traditional in Judiaca, defined as "an ancient commentary on part of the Hebrew scriptures, attached to the biblical text." The book's introduction explains that the stories are all from the "Hebrew Bible," sometimes called the "Old Testament" in communities outside of Judaism. While the book definitely comes from a Jewish standpoint, the book will have religious crossover appeal because these stories are part of many traditions and the commentary is nondenominational"--Provided by publisher.


Format: Book
Holds: 0 on 6 copies

View this item

 
Feminism From A to Z

Feminism From A to Z
Pitman, Gayle E.

An alphabetical primer on feminism examines twenty-six topics of feminist theory, from family life and intersectionality to violence and literacy, and includes call-to-action exercises in for each topic.


Format: Book
Holds: 0 on 4 copies

View this item

 
Confucius

Confucius
Dem

"An illustrated biography of Confucius (551 BCE-479 BCE), the ancient Chinese teacher, politician, thinker, and philosopher known for his popular aphorisms, his emphasis on education and study, and his models of social interaction. Includes a map and author's sources"--Provided by publisher.


Format: Book
Holds: 0 on 6 copies

View this item

 
Where Is the Eiffel Tower?

Where Is the Eiffel Tower?
Anastasio, Dina

"Readers will learn about the Eiffel Tower, the beloved and iconic symbol of Paris, France, and one of the most recognizable structures in the world. Set up for the World's Fair in 1889, the Eiffel Tower greets millions of visitors each year who climb up its wrought-iron stairs, ride its glass elevators, and enjoy the wonderful views of the city spread out below it"--Provided by publisher.


Format: Book
Holds: 0 on 8 copies

View this item

 
Inventor, Engineer, and Physicist Nikola Tesla

Inventor, Engineer, and Physicist Nikola Tesla
Marsico, Katie, 1980-

Nikola Tesla spent his spare time experimenting with electrical equipment. He worked for inventor Thomas Edison, and went on to invent alternating current electricity. Learn how Tesla's work eventually made turning on electrical devices as easy as flipping a switch!


Format: Book
Holds: 0 on 6 copies

View this item

 



[ 1 - 10 ] [ 11 - 20 ] [ 21 - 30 ] [ 31 - 40 ] [ 41 - 50 ] [ 51 - 60 ] [ 61 - 70 ] [ 71 - 80 ] [ 81 - 90 ] [ 91 - 100 ]

RSS feed for this list