The Seattle Public Library

Your Account | Print-Friendly

December 18, 2017

Adults

Adults : Streetwise Booklist: Home is where my heart is

Audience: All Ages Header Image

Library Locator


Map of Library Locations

Alert

Library closed Dec. 24 and 25

All locations of The Seattle Public Library and the book drops at the Central Library will be closed on Christmas Eve, Sunday, Dec. 24 and Christmas Day, Monday, Dec. 25.

Streetwise Revisited: Home is Where My Heart Is - Homelessness Written, Voiced and Seen

 

Streetwise Revisited: A 30-year Journey Sept. 15 - Nov. 3

 

RSS feed for this list
Without A Net: Middle Class and Homeless (with Kids) in America

Without A Net: Middle Class and Homeless (with Kids) in America
Kennedy, Michelle

"Michelle Kennedy had a typical middle-class American childhood in Vermont. She attended college, interned for the U.S. Senate, married her high school sweetheart, and settled in the suburbs of D.C. But the comfortable life she was building quickly fell apart. At age twenty-four Michelle was suddenly single, homeless, and living out of a car with her three small children. She waitressed night shifts while her kids slept out in the restaurant's parking lot. She saved her tips in the glove compartment, and set aside a few quarters every week for truck stop showers for her and the kids.


Format: Book
Holds: 0 on 3 copies

View this item

 
Breakfast at Sally's: One Homeless Man's Inspirational Journey

Breakfast at Sally's: One Homeless Man's Inspirational Journey
LeMieux, Richard


Format: Book
Holds: 2 on 5 copies

View this item

 
The Soloist: A Lost Dream, An Unlikely Friendship, and the Redemptive Power of Music

The Soloist: A Lost Dream, An Unlikely Friendship, and the Redemptive Power of Music
Lopez, Steve

The true story of Nathaniel Ayers, a musician who becomes schizophrenic and homeless, and his friendship with Steve Lopez, the Los Angeles columnist who discovers and writes about him in the newspaper.


Format: Book
Holds: 0 on 3 copies

View this item

 
Breaking Night: [a Memoir of Forgiveness, Survival, and My Journey From Homeless to Harvard]

Breaking Night: [a Memoir of Forgiveness, Survival, and My Journey From Homeless to Harvard]
Murray, Liz

Read by the author. Also available in print and ebook formats.


Format: Audiobook CD
Holds: 0 on 2 copies

View this item

 
Original Voices: Homeless and Formerly Homeless Women's Writings

Original Voices: Homeless and Formerly Homeless Women's Writings


Format: Book
Holds: 0 on 7 copies

View this item

 
Undocumented: A Dominican Boy's Odyssey From A Homeless Shelter to the Ivy League

Undocumented: A Dominican Boy's Odyssey From A Homeless Shelter to the Ivy League
Padilla Peralta, Dan-el


Format: Book
Holds: 3 on 5 copies

View this item

 
In Hanuman's Hands: A Memoir

In Hanuman's Hands: A Memoir
Rao, Cheeni


Format: Book
Holds: 0 on 2 copies

View this item

 
A Free Man

A Free Man
Sethi, Aman


Format: Book
Holds: 0 on 3 copies

View this item

 
Grand Central Winter: Stories From the Street

Grand Central Winter: Stories From the Street
Stringer, Lee


Format: Book
Holds: 0 on 2 copies

View this item

 
The Glass Castle: A Memoir

The Glass Castle: A Memoir
Walls, Jeannette

In the tradition of Mary Karr's "The Liars' Club" and Rick Bragg's "All Over But the Shouting," Jeannette Walls has written a stunning and life-affirming memoir about surviving a willfully impoverished, eccentric and severely misguided family. The child of an alcoholic father and an eccentric artist mother discusses her family's nomadic upbringing, during which she and her siblings fended for themselves while their parents outmaneuvered bill collectors and the authorities.


Format: Book
Holds: 73 on 42 copies

View this item

 



[ 1 - 10 ] [ 11 - 20 ] [ 21 - 24 ]

RSS feed for this list